[p4] Users getting re-generated even after deletion !!!
william_ivey at bmc.com
Thu Feb 23 08:13:49 PST 2006
> -----Original Message-----
> From: perforce-user-bounces at perforce.com
> [mailto:perforce-user-bounces at perforce.com]On Behalf Of - C Saha -
> Hi All
> Thank you so much for the reply. But I have something to
> say here. If I remove any perforce user id from the database
> then the same user should automatically get deleted from the
> groups (of which the user was member of). If this is not the
> case then isin't that a bug in the perforce system?
It's not a bug from my point of view. I have users that come
and go as they move from project to project so I prefer to keep
them in most of the groups they belong to rather than have to
add them back when they return.
Might be nice as an option, but I like the current default
> Because I have few users who are members of more than 100
> groups, so in that case if I was to delete the user then I
> have to manually edit all the 100 gruops and kickoff the user
> from there? Thats really a hectic job... There should be some
> way around ...
That sounds excessive. You could script it, but I wonder if you
can't simplify things by starting with a few basic groups and
building your more specfic groups around them. That way, when
you remove a user from the basic group, any group that includes
that sub-group no longer sees the user either.
Alternately, you could set up a group into which you place
users who are no longer active, and remove all rights from this
group in your protect table.
More information about the perforce-user