[p4] Revision confusion

Ivey, William william_ivey at bmc.com
Thu Aug 30 08:02:07 PDT 2007


I was watching the modtime thread and tried an experiment,

the results were interesting:

 

> p4 have BuildIt.dat

//depot/main/BuildIt.dat#2 - /opt/simcity/auto/daily/main/BuildIt.dat

> p4 edit BuildIt.dat

//depot/main/BuildIt.dat#2 - opened for edit

> p4 sync BuildIt.dat#1

//depot/main/BuildIt.dat#2 - is opened at a later revision - not changed

> p4 have BuildIt.dat

//depot/main/BuildIt.dat#1 - /opt/simcity/auto/daily/main/BuildIt.dat

> p4 revert BuildIt.dat

//depot/main/BuildIt.dat#1 - was edit, reverted

> p4 edit BuildIt.dat

//depot/main/BuildIt.dat#1 - opened for edit

... //depot/main/BuildIt.dat - must sync/resolve #2 before submitting

> p4 diff BuildIt.dat

==== //depot/main/BuildIt.dat#1 -
/opt/simcity/auto/daily/main/BuildIt.dat ====

> p4 revert BuildIt.dat

//depot/main/BuildIt.dat#1 - was edit, reverted

 

Obviously sync doesn't update the file contents, but it does change 

the revision. -Wm

 




More information about the perforce-user mailing list