[p4] Deleting original depot without affecting branch

Jeff Desharnais jdesharnais at maddocsoftware.com
Wed Feb 27 12:11:09 PST 2008


Forgot to mention:

Server version: P4D/NTX86/2005.1.PATCH/99707 (2006/05/16)

Running on a Windows Server 2003 machine.



-----Original Message-----
From: Jeff Desharnais 
Sent: Wednesday, February 27, 2008 2:44 PM
To: perforce-user at perforce.com
Subject: Deleting original depot without affecting branch

Hello,

We have a depot for project1 which was branched into a new depot to
create project 2.

Work has been done on project2. Project1 is no longer needed.

I need to obliterate project1 to free up space on the server, and am
concerned with the process of removing project1 without any negative
effects on project2.

My understanding in the past was that using obliterate as normal would
not break any links in project2 and project2 would be unharmed. I have a
feeling this is incorrect and that I will need to use the obliterate -z
command.

If I understand this right, using obliterate -z on project1 will not
actually remove any data but will just create true copies of all the
lazy copies. So project1 and project2 will be unchanged except for the
fact that project2 is now its own entity with no links to project1. Is
this correct? From this point I would then just normally obliterate
project1?

If anyone could clear this up for me I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Jeff




More information about the perforce-user mailing list