[p4] P4 reopen with security level 3

Stephen Vance steve at vance.com
Mon Mar 10 18:32:56 PDT 2008


Security levels are just about password requirements. They do not change 
the behavior in any way. You shouldn't be using the same workspace if 
you want to avoid this.

Steve

Looney, James B (N-ULA) wrote:
> I haven't completely checked this out, but it got my attention when one
> of my coworkers 'stole' a file from me.  He used p4 reopen, and it was
> reopened in his name.  Am I missing something in believing that with
> security in place (level 3), that this should not be allowed to happen?
>
> To make sure the question's clear:
> user1: p4 edit file.cpp
> 	file.cpp - opened for edit
>
> user2: p4 opened
> 	file.cpp edit default change (text) by jlooney at clientName
> user2: p4 reopen file.cpp
> user2: p4 opened
> 	file.cpp - edit default change
>
> It seems to me as though this violates part of why we have to login as
> individual users.  Unless this has something to do with user1 and user2
> being in the same group or having access to the same files?
>
> Thanks,
> -James
> _______________________________________________
> perforce-user mailing list  -  perforce-user at perforce.com
> http://maillist.perforce.com/mailman/listinfo/perforce-user
>
>   

-- 
Stephen Vance
www.vance.com



More information about the perforce-user mailing list